Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Day Birthday Celebration Event

Hayward community leaders, the Hayward South Alameda County NAACP, Chabot College, Hayward Unified School District and the City of Hayward invite Hayward residents to enjoy a special tribute to Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.
MLK Postcard

Hayward will pay tribute to the life and legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. with a program of music and song, poetry, community-award recognitions, a keynote address by Chief of Police Toney Chaplin and other activities starting at 4:30 p.m. Monday, Jan. 16, at Chabot College Performing Arts Complex.

The annual Hayward celebration of the great social justice and civil rights leader that takes place on the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. holiday is returning to its live format after a two-year hiatus due to the COVID19 pandemic.

The program is sponsored by the Hayward South Alameda County NAACP, Chabot College, Hayward Unified School District and the City of Hayward, and will feature performances by the Mt. Eden High School Choir, Hayward High School Jazz Band and Brett Harte Middle School Slam Poets.

Keynote speaker Chaplin is the first African-American leader of the Hayward Police Department.  Born one year and one week to the day after the assassination of Dr. King on April 4, 1968, Chief Chaplin grew up in Tulsa, Oklahoma, location of the Black Wall Street massacre, where a white mob attacked the thriving Greenwood business district on May 31, 1921, resulting in the death of more than 300 people.  He is a U.S. Army veteran who went on to a 30-year career of service to the San Francisco Police Department where he held every rank from patrol officer to Interim Chief of Police before being named Hayward’s 15th Chief of Police in July 2019.

Advance reservations to attend this free event are encouraged and can be made online here through Chabot College.  For more information about the annual Hayward Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Birthday Celebration, including attending the event, please contact Zach Ebadi of the City of Hayward at Zach.Ebadi@hayward-ca.gov


Carl Baker-Madsen, City of Hayward, Ret.

Michael Bazeley, Hayward Unified School District

Freddy M. Davis, President, Hayward South Alameda County NAACP

Zachary Ebadi, City of Hayward

Chien Wu-FernandezSuperintendent, Hayward Unified School District

Bernadette Fife, Chabot College

Chuck Finnie, City of Hayward

Barbara Halliday, Mayor, City of Hayward

Michael Sweeney, Former Mayor, City of Hayward

Virginia Williamson, Alpha Omega Delta Kappa Gamma

Connie Willis, Community Member

Ralph Morales, 2020

Chuck Horner, 2019

Kay Thomas, 2019

Blytha Bowers, 2018

Zachary Ebadi, 2017

Kari McAllister, 2016

Sheryl Boykins, 2015

Carl & Marilyn Baker-Madsen, 2014

Darryl McAllister, 2013

Freedom Reign, 2012

Former Mayor Michael Sweeney, 2011

Charles Plummer, 2010

Gail Steele, 2010

Reverend John Thomas, 2009

Odessa Staggers, 2008

Valerie Snart, 2007

Bishop J. W. Macklin, 2006

Francisco Zermeño, 2005

AmeriCorps, Chabot College, 2004

Kathi Booth, 2003

Nancy Schluntz, 2003

Sandra Iglehart, 2002

Marilyn Baker-Madsen, 2001

Venius Winn, 2000

Gloria Grant-Wilson, 1999

James Knuppe, 1998

Carol Henrie, 1997

Clarence Gilmore, 1997

Carolyn Greene, 1996

Marlin Foxworth, 1996

Alwine Fenton, 1995

Freddye M. Davis, 1994

Michael Bell, 1993