Hayward Youth Hall of Fame inductees

November 14, 2017

The City of Hayward tonight honors recipients of its first Youth Achievement Hall of Fame awards, recognizing accomplishment in academics, the arts, athletics, community service, innovation and leadership, and for heroism.

The 2017 Youth Achievement Hall of Fame Award recipients are Mandeep Ladhar, for academics; Eileen Syrop, for arts; Shyh Lynn Saenz, for athletics; Andrew Hui, for community service; Desmond Vinson, for heroism; Ashley Sinn, for innovation; and Alassandra Eiras, for leadership.

Established earlier this year by the City Council, the Hayward Youth Achievement Hall of Fame is open to young people ages 5 to 19 years old, who can be nominated by any parent or other family member, teacher, coach, mentor, youth leader, neighbor, friend or other sponsoring adult. Nominees must live in or attend school in Hayward. Nomination profiles of the 2017 Youth Hall of Fame inductees can be found here.

The deadline for nominations each new calendar year is July 31. Nominations are accepted in seven categories—academics, arts, athletics, community service, heroism, innovation and leadership. Award selections are made by a three-member ad hoc Youth Hall of Fame committee of the City Council.

For more information and to find complete rules, guidelines and award-category descriptions visit the City Council Youth Achievement Hall of Fame website or call (510) 881-7956.