City Government

New City Council to be sworn-in

December 11, 2018

Photos of Mayor-elect Barbara Halliday, Councilmember-elect Sara Lamnin and Councilmember-elect Aisha Wahab

The new Hayward City Council and reelected Mayor Barbara Halliday will be sworn into office this evening, Dec. 11, at a special meeting of the City Council starting at 7 p.m.

In the Nov. 6 election, Halliday won reelection to a second term as mayor with 56 percent of the vote. Aisha Wahab and Councilmember Sara Lamnin topped a field of seven candidates for two City Council seats with 27 percent and 26 percent, respectively.

The swearing-in will be preceded by a color-guard ceremony, the Pledge of Allegiance led by Boy Scout Troup 168, a special recognition of Councilmember Marvin Peixoto, who did not win reelection, as well as a performance of the “Star-Spangled Banner” by the Mount Eden High School Choir.

In its only legislative business of the evening, the new Council will elect one of its members as Mayor Pro Tempore. By charter, the Mayor Pro Tempore performs the duties of Mayor during an absence or in any circumstance in which the Mayor is unable to perform the duties of office.

The meeting will be followed by a public reception in the City Hall rotunda.