News Release

Three Hayward Companies Finalists for Innovation Awards

December 5, 2016

(Hayward, CA) - The East Bay Economic Development Alliance (East Bay EDA) selected three cutting-edge Hayward companies as finalists for 2017 Innovation Awards. These awards celebrate and showcase outstanding organizations in the region that most contribute and embrace innovation in manufacturing, services, products and designs.

Awards are presented in the eight categories including: Advanced Manufacturing, Clean Technology, Education, Engineering and Design, Food, Information Technology and Life Sciences. A panel of subject matter experts scored over 100 nominations in October and selected two finalists in each of the categories. Hayward finalists included:

  1. MDC Vacuum Products (Advanced Manufacturing): Started in 1975, this company designs and manufactures vacuum and ceramis components used in the aerospace, biotech, research, and manufacturing industries.
  2. Alphabet Energy (Engineering and Design): This company leverages nanotechnology research from Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and Michigan State University to design and manufacture equipment that converts industrial waste heat into energy.
  3. Microvi Biotech Inc. (Life Sciences): This biotechnology company discovers, develops, and commercializes biocatalytic solutions for water, wastewater, and biochemical industries.

This is the second year Hayward companies recieved recognition for their innoative spirit. Last year, Motiv Power Systems, maker of electric vehicle powertrains, and Inland Metal Technologies, a precision metal parts manufacturer, were finalists. Motiv Power took home the Clean Technology award.

"Hayward is home to hundreds of innovative businesses, small and large, working to change the world," said Paul Nguyen, Economic Development Specialist, "The East Bay EDA's Innovation Awards highlight the amazing work happening in our community and acts as a beacon for other entrepreneurs seeking a home near like minds."

The winners for the 2017 Innovation Awards will be announced at a ceremony on Thursday, March 9, 2017 at the Fox Theater in Oakland. The master of ceremonies will be Scott McGrew, hst of NBC's "Press Here" and anchor for NBC's "Today in the Bay" morning news. Winners will also be featured in the San Francisco Business Times. For more information on the event, visit

Download the full press release.