City Government, Library

City commission and task force appointments and reappointments

October 15, 2019

New and returning commissioners take their oath in front of the City Council

The City Council last month confirmed the appointments and reappointments of 34 Hayward residents to City commissions and the Keep Hayward Clean and Green Task Force.

An annual recruitment for City commissions, boards and other bodies was conducted from April 5 to July 5, and generated 92 applications from individuals who met appointment qualifications.

Following an evaluation and interview process, the Council selected 25 applicants for new appointment to the Community Service, Library, Personnel and Planning commissions and one to the Keep Hayward Clean and Green Task Force.  Nine others were reappointed to new terms.

Newly appointed to the Community Services Commission were Artavia Berry, Varsha Chauhan and Emily Chow; to the Library Commission were Priscilla Banks, Anika Patterson, Suresh Sangiah, Karima Sharifi and Andrea Wong; to the Personnel Commission were Robert Gaumer, Denise Thompson and Randy Wright; to the Planning Commission were Julie Roche and Robert Stevens; and to the Keep Hayward Clean and Green Task Force were Christina Cabrera, Carrie Conover, Rodney Hankins, Patrick Kariuki, Christopher Lopez, Esther Lopez, Ly T Mac, Adam Murphy, Chiemeka Okoronkwo, Debra Patton, Jessica Stanley and Kenny Wong Many.

Reappointed to new terms were Arzo Mehdavi and Zachariah Oquenda to the Community Services Commission; Erika Cortez to the Personnel Commission; Daniel Goldstein to the Planning Commission; and Jeffrey Haman, Chuck Horner, Lenora Taylor, Jacquelyn Young and Sharon Eva to the Keep Hayward Clean and Green Task Force.